How do I get brakes on the rig?
jackl
Posted 11/2/2004 10:19 AM (#5188)
Subject: How do I get brakes on the rig?

I'm new to the sidecar world and have just purchased a Yamaha XS750 (3 cyl) with a Bingham Mk I car. When I had the car wheel off for bearing packing, I observed that it would not be too much of a job to add a disc brake to the rig. Has any one done this? Is there a supplier for the hardware?

I will have the fiberglass body off the frame for painting at the end of the year and that would be a good time to make the brake mod. Surely somoeonw has alreadysolved this problem. Help!!
Top of the page Bottom of the page
claude #3563
Posted 11/2/2004 1:19 PM (#5190 - in reply to #5188)
Subject: RE: How do I get brakes on the rig?

Expert

Call Doug Bingham at Sidestrider in Van Nuys, CA.
(818) 780-5542
His website link is: http://www.sidestrider.com/
Hack'n
Posted 11/2/2004 2:42 PM (#5193 - in reply to #5188)

Expert

I've added disc brakes two ways. If the sidecar currently uses an automotive style stub axle with a four or five lug hub, a hub flanged for a disc rotor can be used. Another way is to change axles to use a motorcycle wheel with an attached rotor.
The next step is to acquire a caliper assembly which you deem adequate (I've used GMA products) then fabricate and weld an appropriate mounting bracket on to the swing-arm. A washer or two can be used as shims to align the caliper to the rotor. The caliper can then be linked to the rear (preferably) brake of the bike. With or without a proportioning valve.
claude #3563
Posted 11/2/2004 3:06 PM (#5195 - in reply to #5193)

Expert

Lonnie wrote:...>>(snip)..The next step is to acquire a caliper assembly which you deem adequate (I've used GMA products) then fabricate and weld an appropriate mounting bracket on to the swing-arm. A washer or two can be used as shims to align the caliper to the rotor....<<