Leading Link Q's
OldNick
Posted 12/19/2015 2:01 AM (#87162)
Subject: Leading Link Q's

Hi guys. I am actually a noob triker. I hope I will be treated kindly.Respect I have to earn!

If the LL can lower the bar force in a turn, how is stability maintained and how is head shake stopped? So far everything tells me the two are incompatible.

A bike shop guy, who will make no money from it, said I should look into LL, as it is "like power steering". There is a guy in my city (Perth Western Australia) who makes them for side cars and has made maybe 20 or so. Not cheap, but I am interested. One beauty is the guy's setup is certified with the traffic people,so while I still have to get a permit, no Engineer's cert is needed.

So. From what I understand, the LL suspension will overcome the handlebar force when cornering, by drastically lowering the trail compared to a straight fork set with extra rake for stability.I have seen diagrams showing why and spoken to the maker above (NO Not Him!..the guy I mentioned above :D).He said he has had trail as low as 20mm and it really eases the steering.

Thanks for any help or info

Nick

Top of the page Bottom of the page
Sidewise
Posted 12/20/2015 5:25 PM (#87181 - in reply to #87162)
Subject: Re: Leading Link Q's

Regular

Us sidecar folks are generally a friendly bunch so your questions are welcome here. I have LLs on my ST1100 EZS Sidecar outfit. I do not pretend to understand the dynamics but the reduced trail dramatically reduces steering effort; although not like the "power steering" exaggeration, especially running 175-65X14 front tire. The more sturdy construction reduces flex which contributes to head shake in telefork scenarios. As shake is usually not completely eliminated but more readily controlled because of the reduced effort, a dampener is still required to mask head shake completely. I have never seen a trike here in the USA with LLs and trikes have become quite popular with our aging riders.
OldNick