leveling sidecar frame questions (new to sidecars)
saophoto
Posted 10/22/2017 11:11 AM (#95446)
Subject: leveling sidecar frame questions (new to sidecars)

Hi Folks!
I am new to sidecarring and have only had my rig set up for about a month without much riding in yet.
I have a velorex 562 mounted to a ural retro with regular forks.
Unfortunately the only place I had at the time to set it up was an uneven driveway made of pavers (bricks).
It actually handles pretty well and have had it on the side streets and up to 45 mph without any noticeable issues.
I recently started taking it to work and realized how unlevel the frame is, and when riding it is even more pronounced, with the frame sagging in towards the bike.

My question is, now that I have found a decent spot to level the frame...
Do I have to disassemble the whole thing to get the frame level?
Do I have to start from scratch?
Can anyone give me a step by step to do this?

I have done some research and some recommend compressing the shocks on the bike to simulate me being on it while in other writings this is never mentioned.
If setting it up with shocks compressed, wont the sidecar frame appear to slant away from the bike when no rider is present?

Should the sidecar be empty of ballast when setting the frame level?

I believe the velorex instructions state not to snug anything down until after toe in and lean out and also say to remove the blocks holding everything up before that as well, which seems to me would allow things to sink out of level, especially the two bottom braces on the sidecar frame.

Any advice in getting the frame level is greatly appreciated!
Thanks in advance!
Steve

Top of the page Bottom of the page
Valkrider
Posted 10/22/2017 1:53 PM (#95447 - in reply to #95446)
Subject: Re: leveling sidecar frame questions (new to sidecars)

Veteran