Return to Home page

Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes
Sidecar.com Forum ->  General discussion -> Technical Discussion -> View Thread

You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Random quote: The great thing about standards is that there are so many to choose from.
- (Added by: OldSchool_IsCool)

Alignment Adjustment ?
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   General discussion -> Technical DiscussionMessage format

tinboatcapt
Posted 4/3/2015 7:38 PM (#83749)
Subject: Alignment Adjustment ?

Veteran

Some of you might have read that I am a new (to me) rig owner. I'm in Minneapolis and it is in Phoenix. So, I plan to ride it home.

The friend who has acted as broker and is storing it for me reported that on short rides at speed it pulls slightly to the right.
The thought of riding 1700 miles fighting the rig doesn't appeal to me.

I have some experience tuning up the lean-out and toe-in on much smaller and lighter rigs so I have to ask: Will it be possible to make tweeks while on the road to an '86 Wing/Champion set up?

Curious minds want to know.

Not that I have any objection to a slow, secondary route, multi day ride. I just would prefer it to be comfortable.
Jim

(goldwing-sidecar.jpg)

Attachments
----------------
Attachments goldwing-sidecar.jpg (396KB - 0 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Hack'n
Posted 4/4/2015 1:05 PM (#83759 - in reply to #83749)
Subject: Re: Alignment Adjustment ?

Expert

If you have a tilt control you can trim at speed. If not you need a bit more lean-out to maintain neutral steering at freeway speeds.
Lean-out should be adjusted and tested with expected tour loading in sidecar and on bike.

Lonnie
tinboatcapt
Posted 4/4/2015 1:55 PM (#83761 - in reply to #83759)

Veteran

Thanks! It would be nice if the thing has electric tilt.