Return to Home page

Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes
Sidecar.com Forum ->  General discussion -> General Discussion -> View Thread

You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Random quote: I was gratified to be able to answer promptly. I said I don't know. - Mark Twain
- (Added by: DAVE)

new to sidecars, need alittle help
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   General discussion -> General DiscussionMessage format

Posted 10/20/2003 12:14 PM (#1222)
Subject: new to sidecars, need alittle help

Hi I am new to sidecar.com, not sure what I am doing. Anyway I just bought a '83 honda cb1000 custom with side car. Problem is the mounting bolts are missing, it has 4 mounting point 2 are male/female and bolt slides through, the other 2 are balls that looks like they slide into a tapered cone but no way of fastening. I have looked at the dauntless website. I dont really know what I am looking for and not everything is pictured. Any help finding the mounting bolts would be appreciated . Thank you Brian.
Top of the page Bottom of the page

Posted 10/20/2003 1:05 PM (#1226 - in reply to #1222)
Subject: RE: new to sidecars, need alittle help

Brian,Congratulations on the new rig! You'll find that by and large, sidecarists are a friendly and helpful bunch.Collet and ball mounts are common. What sidecar do you have? We need pictures to tell which parts you are missing but it sounds like all that's missing is the leaves (or jaws if you will) that hold the balls and the plate and bolt that fixes them. What part of Iowa are you in? Maybe we have a memebr who is close by and can help.
Hack'n
Posted 10/20/2003 2:36 PM (#1232 - in reply to #1222)

Expert

Brian,
A couple of low definition digital pix of the car and whatever mountings you have, posted in the album section, would be a great help.

Posted 10/21/2003 11:44 AM (#1240 - in reply to #1226)