Return to Home page

Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes
Sidecar.com Forum ->  General discussion -> Technical Discussion -> View Thread

You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Random quote: "We sleep soundly in our beds at night because rough men stand ready to do violence on our behalf." -Winston Churchill-
- (Added by: Wiskers)

heavy steering and shocks
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   General discussion -> Technical DiscussionMessage format

Posted 5/25/2004 10:06 AM (#3581)
Subject: heavy steering and shocks

I am new to sidecars.

I have an older Motorvation Royale sidecar attached to a Heritage Softail.
toein is about 7/8"
lean out is very minimal if any.
It seems as though the steering takes alot of effort. Any possible options to try and reduce the effort?

It has a Air shock. I think it is a "Progressive Suspension Magnumatic adjustable air/spring shock" I need to know the max PSI it can hold?

Any Ideas?

Thanks

Top of the page Bottom of the page
JayDauntless
Posted 5/25/2004 11:59 AM (#3582 - in reply to #3581)
Subject: RE: heavy steering and shocks

To reduce steering effort you need to reduce trail on the front of the bike. To reduce trial the front wheel needs to move forward. This can be done several different ways. Leading link front ends, different triple tree's, On springers we change the lower rockers. There are many other ways to go it all depends on you budget, how you are going to ride the bike and your preference for styling.
We also have automotive tires that fit right on the stock Harley rim, These tires I have been told help a little on the steering effort but most likley not significatly. They do however help with ride quality, tire life, braking traction and fuel milage. They are called twin tires and sell for $95 each.
For your bike we also have a real engine driven reverse gear.